An election will be held Monday, October 19, 2015, from 8 AM to 8 PM at the Willow Room in the Yukon Inn for one (1) Chief and one (1) Deputy Chief of the Ta’an Kwäch’än Council.

Candidates for Chief                      Candidates for Deputy Chief

Brenda Sam                                     Coralee Johns

Kristina Kane                                   Michelle Telep

Shirley Adamson

Richard Martin


Who can vote ?

Ta’an Kwäch’än citizens 16 years of age or older are eligible to vote.

Your name must appear on the Voters List which is available at the Ta’an Kwäch’än Administration Office and the Ta’an Kwäch’än Elections Office.


How can I vote ?

The Elections Act provides for: regular voting, advance voting, early voting, mobile voting and mail-in voting options.

The regular poll is on Monday, October 19 from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM at The Willow Room at the Yukon Inn in Whitehorse.

Advance voting will be held Monday, October 5 from 4:00 PM to 8:00 PM at the Willow Room at the Yukon Inn in Whitehorse.

Early voting will be available at the Ta’an Kwach’an Election Office at Suite 6A, Yukon Inn (see map) from Friday, September 18 until October 16. The Election Office hours will be: Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 11:00 AM — 1:00 PM.

Mobile voting will be available for eligible citizens who, for reasons such as physical disability or being in an institution, are unable to vote by other means. Requests for a mobile vote shall be made to the Chief Returning Officer by Noon October 16, 2015.

Mail – in voting Any voter may request to vote by mail. However, kits will be only be sent to citizens living outside of Whitehorse. Any eligible citizen may vote by mail upon request to the Chief Returning Officer, Norman Eady:

Citizens who live outside of Whitehorse are strongly encouraged to make sure the Ta’an Kwäch’än Council has your correct mailing address.

In order to count, the mail in ballot must be received by the Chief Returning Officer before the close of vote on Election Day.


Citizens are responsible to ensure their name appears on the voters List.

Please contact the Enrolment Coordinator, Will Jones, at 668-3613 extension 289 if you are not on the list or have had a change of address. His email is

The Preliminary Voters List was posted on September 4, 2015 and the Official Voters List will be posted at the end of day September 18, 2015.


The Election Campaign

The Ta’an Kwäch’än Election Committee has authorized the Chief Returning Officer to provide mailing labels to candidates for the purpose of providing campaign information. Candidates are required to sign a declaration that they will not keep or copy the mailing labels.


What if I have questions?

Please contact the Chief Returning Officer , Norman Eady:

Phone: 867 332-7444

Physical Address of the TKC Election Office: Suite 6A, Yukon Inn (see map)

Mailing Address:   Ta’an Kwäch’än Council – Elections Office


108 Elliott Street

Whitehorse, Yukon

Y1A 6C4


Where can I vote ?

The advance and regular voting will take place at the Willow Room. Early voting will take place at the TKC Elections Office (Suite 6A) from 11AM to 1PM Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays, starting on 18-September.

Where can i vote 2