The Judicial Council is established pursuant to section 11 of the Constitution of the Ta’an Kwäch’än Council. The Judicial Council is composed of three judges, including one elder, appointed by the Elders Council. The Board has the power to expand the composition of the Judicial Council to five judges, including two elders. The appointments of judges to the Judicial Council are for a term of five years.

The powers and responsibilities of the Judicial Council are described in the Constitution of the Ta’an Kwäch’än Council and in the Elections Act (Ta’an Kwäch’än Council). The official way of the operations and business of the Judicial Council is set out in the Rules of Procedure for the Judicial Council.

Decision/Case List

Current Judicial Council Appointments

Michael Dougherty, Judge

Barbara A. Evans, Judge

Darla Jean Lindstrom, Judge

Contact Information

The Secretariat of the Judicial Council
Anne Powers, Registrar
Box 31735
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B4